Post Reply 
Mega Engine - Open-source Classic Megaman engine for Game Maker 8.1 and Studio!
Author Message
JohnLeagsdurg Offline
Regular
**
Registered

Posts: 21
Joined: Mar 2015
Reputation: 1

Post: #41
RE: Mega Engine - Open-source Classic Megaman engine for Game Maker 8.1 and Studio!
(28-08-2016 02:18 PM)WreckingPrograms Wrote:  
(28-08-2016 02:05 PM)JohnLeagsdurg Wrote:  But this engine only does passwords that DOESN'T contain the saved items (e-tanks, 1ups, etc.), right?

Actually, passwords aren't implemented at all. That's why the password section of the Game Over/Victory screen is blank.

So i'll have to work on my own save engine myself?
28-08-2016 04:09 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
WreckingPrograms Offline
Programmer I guess
***
Registered

Posts: 73
Joined: May 2016
Reputation: 8
Rush Award
Post: #42
RE: Mega Engine - Open-source Classic Megaman engine for Game Maker 8.1 and Studio!
(28-08-2016 04:09 PM)JohnLeagsdurg Wrote:  So i'll have to work on my own save engine myself?

I'm afraid that's the case. I recommend using INI files to save your game, as they are both effective and easy-to-use, and Game Maker's default saving system is horrible.

There are plenty of INI files tutorials on the Internet, like this one:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NH9JxykJb6k
28-08-2016 04:12 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Yozzaxia1311 Offline
Programmer.
***
Registered

Posts: 50
Joined: Jun 2016
Reputation: 2

Post: #43
RE: Mega Engine - Open-source Classic Megaman engine for Game Maker 8.1 and Studio!
Found a one-way block problem!

[Image: report.gif]

Please never use Game Maker for large scale projects.
(This post was last modified: 28-08-2016 05:29 PM by Yozzaxia1311.)
28-08-2016 05:11 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
WreckingPrograms Offline
Programmer I guess
***
Registered

Posts: 73
Joined: May 2016
Reputation: 8
Rush Award
Post: #44
RE: Mega Engine - Open-source Classic Megaman engine for Game Maker 8.1 and Studio!
(28-08-2016 05:11 PM)Yozzaxia1311 Wrote:  Found a one-way block problem!

It seems the video isn't available Sad
28-08-2016 05:27 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Yozzaxia1311 Offline
Programmer.
***
Registered

Posts: 50
Joined: Jun 2016
Reputation: 2

Post: #45
RE: Mega Engine - Open-source Classic Megaman engine for Game Maker 8.1 and Studio!
Converted the video to gif

Please never use Game Maker for large scale projects.
28-08-2016 05:30 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
WreckingPrograms Offline
Programmer I guess
***
Registered

Posts: 73
Joined: May 2016
Reputation: 8
Rush Award
Post: #46
RE: Mega Engine - Open-source Classic Megaman engine for Game Maker 8.1 and Studio!
Hmm, I think I know what's causing the problem. I'll make sure to fix it as soon as possible, thanks for the bug report!
28-08-2016 05:32 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Yozzaxia1311 Offline
Programmer.
***
Registered

Posts: 50
Joined: Jun 2016
Reputation: 2

Post: #47
RE: Mega Engine - Open-source Classic Megaman engine for Game Maker 8.1 and Studio!
I also have a request; being able to transition upwards without being on a ladder.

Please never use Game Maker for large scale projects.
(This post was last modified: 28-08-2016 06:21 PM by Yozzaxia1311.)
28-08-2016 06:20 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
WreckingPrograms Offline
Programmer I guess
***
Registered

Posts: 73
Joined: May 2016
Reputation: 8
Rush Award
Post: #48
RE: Mega Engine - Open-source Classic Megaman engine for Game Maker 8.1 and Studio!
(28-08-2016 06:20 PM)Yozzaxia1311 Wrote:  I also have a request; being able to transition upwards without being on a ladder.

Since that is not in the original games, I will not include it in the engine, as many people would actually complain about it.
If you do want it, however, it's really easy to set up. Go to Scripts > Player > playerSwitchSections and go to line 75. Here, delete "&& climbing == true" and you should be able to transition upwards without holding on to a ladder.

(By the way, the jumpthrough platform glitch you reported earlier has been fixed, so version 1.3 will not have this problem anymore)
28-08-2016 06:27 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Yozzaxia1311 Offline
Programmer.
***
Registered

Posts: 50
Joined: Jun 2016
Reputation: 2

Post: #49
RE: Mega Engine - Open-source Classic Megaman engine for Game Maker 8.1 and Studio!
Thank you!

Please never use Game Maker for large scale projects.
28-08-2016 07:13 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Schmidkalkan Offline
Tileset Fanatic
**
Registered

Posts: 16
Joined: Jun 2016
Reputation: 1

Post: #50
RE: Mega Engine - Open-source Classic Megaman engine for Game Maker 8.1 and Studio!
[Image: ffd73b3c19bf95ccc4d01fd676bf173a.gif]

Uh yeah, no idea, I just shot my last ammo bar and that happens in the Pause menu.



Also quick fix for the StarCrash Damage for anyone.

Object/Boss/Pharaoh/objPharaoh - Create Event Code

Add this at the bottom.

damageStarCrash = 2; (Add any number you wan't, no idea what the damage is in GM8.1)







EDIT: Found another bug where the SparkManPlatform stops midair when you go into the pause menu.
(This post was last modified: 29-08-2016 02:50 PM by Schmidkalkan.)
28-08-2016 10:27 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
WreckingPrograms Offline
Programmer I guess
***
Registered

Posts: 73
Joined: May 2016
Reputation: 8
Rush Award
Post: #51
RE: Mega Engine - Open-source Classic Megaman engine for Game Maker 8.1 and Studio!
Thanks for the bug reports! Both bugs have been fixed now, so version 1.3 will not have them anymore.
29-08-2016 04:09 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
LemonPig Offline
Programmer level 0.1
**
Registered

Posts: 11
Joined: Aug 2016
Reputation: -4

Post: #52
RE: Mega Engine - Open-source Classic Megaman engine for Game Maker 8.1 and Studio!
Make a version for the newer gms, bcause this one dosent load fmod
30-08-2016 06:17 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
WreckingPrograms Offline
Programmer I guess
***
Registered

Posts: 73
Joined: May 2016
Reputation: 8
Rush Award
Post: #53
RE: Mega Engine - Open-source Classic Megaman engine for Game Maker 8.1 and Studio!
(30-08-2016 06:17 PM)LemonPig Wrote:  Make a version for the newer gms, bcause this one dosent load fmod

It works fine for me, could you explain the problem in a little more detail?
30-08-2016 06:22 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
LemonPig Offline
Programmer level 0.1
**
Registered

Posts: 11
Joined: Aug 2016
Reputation: -4

Post: #54
RE: Mega Engine - Open-source Classic Megaman engine for Game Maker 8.1 and Studio!
(30-08-2016 06:22 PM)WreckingPrograms Wrote:  
(30-08-2016 06:17 PM)LemonPig Wrote:  Make a version for the newer gms, bcause this one dosent load fmod

It works fine for me, could you explain the problem in a little more detail?
It says this:
ERROR!!! :: ################################################################################​############
ERROR in
action number 1
of Create Event
for object objGlobalControl:


Error defining an external function.
at gml_Script_LoadFMOD (line 38) - global.dll_FMODSoundLoop3d=external_define("GMFMODSimple.dll","FMODSoundLoop3d",dll_stdcall,ty_real,5,ty_real,ty_real,ty_real,ty_real,ty_real);
################################################################################​############
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
stack frame is
gml_Script_LoadFMOD (line 38)
called from - gml_Object_objGlobalControl_CreateEvent_1 (line 35) - LoadFMOD();

Total memory used = 6882874(0x0069063a) bytes
**********************************.
Entering main loop.
**********************************.
---------------------------------------------------------------
minFPS, maxFPS, avgFPS
2147483647, -2147483648, 30
30-08-2016 07:28 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
DamonaSchnider Offline
Mega Ma'am
*****
Registered

Posts: 281
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 15
Roll Caskett AwardRush AwardBeat AwardRevo Remix ContributorSIBRE ContributorTempo Award
Post: #55
RE: Mega Engine - Open-source Classic Megaman engine for Game Maker 8.1 and Studio!
One thing I'd like to suggest is the addition of Bass and Protoman as available playable characters, like they were in Megaman 10. Alternatively, would you be willing to do a tutorial on adding additional playable characters and/or modifying megaman's basic abilities, should you want to do a game along the lines of ACE's Quint's Revenge games?
30-08-2016 07:31 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
LemonPig Offline
Programmer level 0.1
**
Registered

Posts: 11
Joined: Aug 2016
Reputation: -4

Post: #56
RE: Mega Engine - Open-source Classic Megaman engine for Game Maker 8.1 and Studio!
(30-08-2016 07:31 PM)DamonaSchnider Wrote:  One thing I'd like to suggest is the addition of Bass and Protoman as available playable characters, like they were in Megaman 10. Alternatively, would you be willing to do a tutorial on adding additional playable characters and/or modifying megaman's basic abilities, should you want to do a game along the lines of ACE's Quint's Revenge games?
Yes pls,i want to make duo and trio both playable
30-08-2016 07:34 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
galaxyflowers Offline
Newbie
*
Registered

Posts: 8
Joined: Aug 2016
Reputation: 0

Post: #57
RE: Mega Engine - Open-source Classic Megaman engine for Game Maker 8.1 and Studio!
(29-08-2016 04:09 PM)WreckingPrograms Wrote:  Thanks for the bug reports! Both bugs have been fixed now, so version 1.3 will not have them anymore.

MM - 1up can't wait! everything seems to work for me except the aforementioned starcrash bug, I didn't run into any other bugs yet. Any chance on adding magnet beam?

(30-08-2016 07:28 PM)LemonPig Wrote:  
(30-08-2016 06:22 PM)WreckingPrograms Wrote:  
(30-08-2016 06:17 PM)LemonPig Wrote:  Make a version for the newer gms, bcause this one dosent load fmod

It works fine for me, could you explain the problem in a little more detail?
It says this:
ERROR!!! :: ################################################################################​############
ERROR in
action number 1
of Create Event
for object objGlobalControl:


Error defining an external function.
at gml_Script_LoadFMOD (line 38) - global.dll_FMODSoundLoop3d=external_define("GMFMODSimple.dll","FMODSoundLoop3d",dll_stdcall,ty_real,5,ty_real,ty_real,ty_real,ty_real,ty_real);
################################################################################​############
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
stack frame is
gml_Script_LoadFMOD (line 38)
called from - gml_Object_objGlobalControl_CreateEvent_1 (line 35) - LoadFMOD();

Total memory used = 6882874(0x0069063a) bytes
**********************************.
Entering main loop.
**********************************.
---------------------------------------------------------------
minFPS, maxFPS, avgFPS
2147483647, -2147483648, 30

How did you even get that? Were you trying to change something, or did you try to open the 8.1 version in GMS?

EDIT: Did you change the order of rooms? It's an important order for initializing all the correct content.
(This post was last modified: 30-08-2016 09:41 PM by galaxyflowers.)
30-08-2016 08:15 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
WreckingPrograms Offline
Programmer I guess
***
Registered

Posts: 73
Joined: May 2016
Reputation: 8
Rush Award
Post: #58
RE: Mega Engine - Open-source Classic Megaman engine for Game Maker 8.1 and Studio!
(30-08-2016 07:28 PM)LemonPig Wrote:  It says this:
ERROR!!! ::
...
Basically what galaxyflowers said. You can change the order of the rooms however you like, but you must always make sure rmInit is the first room in the game, otherwise errors will pop up.
If rmInit is the first room, however: could you tell me which version of GM Studio you're using?



DamonaSchnider Wrote:One thing I'd like to suggest is the addition of Bass and Protoman as available playable characters, like they were in Megaman 10. Alternatively, would you be willing to do a tutorial on adding additional playable characters and/or modifying megaman's basic abilities, should you want to do a game along the lines of ACE's Quint's Revenge games?
I'm afraid Megaman will be the only playable character in this engine. As I stated before, I do not want to add too much content, especially if it's not truly necessary, since adding more and more content greatly increases the chances of engine clones being made with this. Sorry!


galaxyflowers Wrote:can't wait! everything seems to work for me except the aforementioned starcrash bug, I didn't run into any other bugs yet. Any chance on adding magnet beam?
Glad you're liking it so far! I won't add any special weapons to the engine anymore, though, so I'm afraid the Magnet Beam will not be added. If you plan to add it yourself, I recommend using objTopSolid and giving it an image_xscale to match the Magnet Beam's size.
31-08-2016 05:52 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
galaxyflowers Offline
Newbie
*
Registered

Posts: 8
Joined: Aug 2016
Reputation: 0

Post: #59
RE: Mega Engine - Open-source Classic Megaman engine for Game Maker 8.1 and Studio!
(31-08-2016 05:52 AM)WreckingPrograms Wrote:  
(30-08-2016 07:28 PM)LemonPig Wrote:  It says this:
ERROR!!! ::
...
Basically what galaxyflowers said. You can change the order of the rooms however you like, but you must always make sure rmInit is the first room in the game, otherwise errors will pop up.
If rmInit is the first room, however: could you tell me which version of GM Studio you're using?

Well unfortunately I'll need to bite my tongue because I, too, am getting a LoadFMOD error after updating GMS tonight. It's version 1.4.1760.

Basically says:
error defining external function in script LoadFMOD on lines:
38, 41, 110, 206, 214, 386


and obvi its being called from objGlobalControl line 35
(This post was last modified: 31-08-2016 06:14 AM by galaxyflowers.)
31-08-2016 06:12 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
JohnLeagsdurg Offline
Regular
**
Registered

Posts: 21
Joined: Mar 2015
Reputation: 1

Post: #60
RE: Mega Engine - Open-source Classic Megaman engine for Game Maker 8.1 and Studio!
I have GameMaker: Studio (the free version) but these errors coming from the version makes me want to use GameMaker 8.1 because this engine was made natively in 8.1.
31-08-2016 10:04 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread:
1 Guest(s)

Return to TopReturn to Content