Mega Engine - Open-source Classic Megaman engine for Game Maker 8.1 and Studio 1&2!
Author Message
DWN No.000 Blues Offline
Newbie
*
Registered

Posts: 6
Threads: 0
Joined: Aug 2016
Reputation: 0
#81
RE: Mega Engine - Open-source Classic Megaman engine for Game Maker 8.1 and Studio!
(02-09-2016, 07:49 PM)WreckingPrograms Wrote:
(02-09-2016, 07:43 PM)DWN No.000 Blues Wrote: Thanks the reason i asked is because studio gives me too much trouble...

If you're referring to the LoadFMOD() crash: that bug has been fixed in 1.3, which I just released, so make sure to check it out.

But I just downloaded it today and it still gives me the f mod error...
02-09-2016, 07:53 PM
Find Reply
WreckingPrograms Offline
Programmer I guess
***
Registered

Posts: 84
Threads: 4
Joined: May 2016
Reputation: 10
#82
RE: Mega Engine - Open-source Classic Megaman engine for Game Maker 8.1 and Studio!
(02-09-2016, 07:53 PM)DWN No.000 Blues Wrote: But I just downloaded it today and it still gives me the f mod error...

I released 1.3 a few minutes ago, so you are probably still using 1.2. Please re-download the engine.
02-09-2016, 07:54 PM
Find Reply
DWN No.000 Blues Offline
Newbie
*
Registered

Posts: 6
Threads: 0
Joined: Aug 2016
Reputation: 0
#83
RE: Mega Engine - Open-source Classic Megaman engine for Game Maker 8.1 and Studio!
(02-09-2016, 07:54 PM)WreckingPrograms Wrote:
(02-09-2016, 07:53 PM)DWN No.000 Blues Wrote: But I just downloaded it today and it still gives me the f mod error...

I released 1.3 a few minutes ago, so you are probably still using 1.2. Please re-download the engine.

Bro...

(02-09-2016, 07:54 PM)WreckingPrograms Wrote:
(02-09-2016, 07:53 PM)DWN No.000 Blues Wrote: But I just downloaded it today and it still gives me the f mod error...

I released 1.3 a few minutes ago, so you are probably still using 1.2. Please re-download the engine.

It works well now that I can get it working.
(This post was last modified: 02-09-2016, 08:16 PM by DWN No.000 Blues.)
02-09-2016, 07:59 PM
Find Reply
galaxyflowers Offline
Newbie
*
Registered

Posts: 8
Threads: 0
Joined: Aug 2016
Reputation: 0
#84
RE: Mega Engine - Open-source Classic Megaman engine for Game Maker 8.1 and Studio!
(02-09-2016, 07:54 PM)WreckingPrograms Wrote:
(02-09-2016, 07:53 PM)DWN No.000 Blues Wrote: But I just downloaded it today and it still gives me the f mod error...

I released 1.3 a few minutes ago, so you are probably still using 1.2. Please re-download the engine.

Thank you for 1.3 WreckingGod <3
02-09-2016, 08:23 PM
Find Reply
DWN No.000 Blues Offline
Newbie
*
Registered

Posts: 6
Threads: 0
Joined: Aug 2016
Reputation: 0
#85
RE: Mega Engine - Open-source Classic Megaman engine for Game Maker 8.1 and Studio!
___________________________________________
############################################################################################
FATAL ERROR in
action number 1
of Other Event: User Defined 0
for object objPauseMenu:

Push :: Execution Error - Variable Index [0,8] out of range [1,8] - -5.weaponSlot(100017,8)
at gml_Object_objPauseMenu_UserEvent0_1 (line 32) - global.weapon = global.weaponSlot[option];
############################################################################################
I'm trying to add a weapon and i followed the tutorial got the macrel or constant set to 8 an unused value and it gives me this error
02-09-2016, 09:06 PM
Find Reply
WreckingPrograms Offline
Programmer I guess
***
Registered

Posts: 84
Threads: 4
Joined: May 2016
Reputation: 10
#86
RE: Mega Engine - Open-source Classic Megaman engine for Game Maker 8.1 and Studio!
(02-09-2016, 09:06 PM)DWN No.000 Blues Wrote: ___________________________________________
############################################################################################
FATAL ERROR in
action number 1
of Other Event: User Defined 0
for object objPauseMenu:

Push :: Execution Error - Variable Index [0,8] out of range [1,8] - -5.weaponSlot(100017,8)
at gml_Object_objPauseMenu_UserEvent0_1 (line 32) - global.weapon = global.weaponSlot[option];
############################################################################################
I'm trying to add a weapon and i followed the tutorial got the macrel or constant set to 8 an unused value and it gives me this error

If you want any personal assistance, please send me a private message. I don't want to flood this thread with people looking for help.
02-09-2016, 09:15 PM
Find Reply
galaxyflowers Offline
Newbie
*
Registered

Posts: 8
Threads: 0
Joined: Aug 2016
Reputation: 0
#87
RE: Mega Engine - Open-source Classic Megaman engine for Game Maker 8.1 and Studio!
(02-09-2016, 09:06 PM)DWN No.000 Blues Wrote: ___________________________________________
############################################################################################
FATAL ERROR in
action number 1
of Other Event: User Defined 0
for object objPauseMenu:

Push :: Execution Error - Variable Index [0,8] out of range [1,8] - -5.weaponSlot(100017,8)
at gml_Object_objPauseMenu_UserEvent0_1 (line 32) - global.weapon = global.weaponSlot[option];
############################################################################################
I'm trying to add a weapon and i followed the tutorial got the macrel or constant set to 8 an unused value and it gives me this error

Why do you keep posting such large error messages... a simple rundown would do.. also, this engine may be too complicated for you.. you may have to just swallow that and learn some stuff...
02-09-2016, 09:19 PM
Find Reply
Entity1037 Offline
That One Person Who Does Things
*****
Registered

Posts: 472
Threads: 14
Joined: Dec 2014
Reputation: 7
#88
RE: Mega Engine - Open-source Classic Megaman engine for Game Maker 8.1 and Studio!
I'm trying to figure out how to add a custom font. I've found the MM3 font sprite, but I don't know where the font is set up or how. I've found there's a call to font_add_sprite() in objGlobalControl, but I can't find what that is.

Wait, nevermind. Figured out how the font shenanigans works.

Programming a thing, ba da baa, programming a thing, ba da baa...
(This post was last modified: 03-09-2016, 12:25 AM by Entity1037.)
03-09-2016, 12:03 AM
Find Reply
Entity1037 Offline
That One Person Who Does Things
*****
Registered

Posts: 472
Threads: 14
Joined: Dec 2014
Reputation: 7
#89
RE: Mega Engine - Open-source Classic Megaman engine for Game Maker 8.1 and Studio!
Every time I try to change the icon in Global Game Settings, Game Maker gives me an error saying "The Parameter is Incorrect". I have no idea why, and I couldn't find anything on google about it. I am trying to switch it with this .ico image. I don't know much about window icon images, so maybe I'm not doing something right with the .ico file, but I have no idea what it would be. Any ideas?

Programming a thing, ba da baa, programming a thing, ba da baa...
03-09-2016, 01:52 AM
Find Reply
Yozzaxia1311 Offline
Bored Programmer
***
Registered

Posts: 62
Threads: 3
Joined: Jun 2016
Reputation: 2
#90
RE: Mega Engine - Open-source Classic Megaman engine for Game Maker 8.1 and Studio!
The top solids bug still persists.
edit: nevermind, I guess updating my project will be harder than I intended. Can you please tell me where you fixed the bug?

*chew*
(This post was last modified: 03-09-2016, 04:02 AM by Yozzaxia1311.)
03-09-2016, 03:55 AM
Find Reply
WreckingPrograms Offline
Programmer I guess
***
Registered

Posts: 84
Threads: 4
Joined: May 2016
Reputation: 10
#91
RE: Mega Engine - Open-source Classic Megaman engine for Game Maker 8.1 and Studio!
(03-09-2016, 01:52 AM)Entity1037 Wrote: Every time I try to change the icon in Global Game Settings, Game Maker gives me an error saying "The Parameter is Incorrect". I have no idea why, and I couldn't find anything on google about it. I am trying to switch it with this .ico image. I don't know much about window icon images, so maybe I'm not doing something right with the .ico file, but I have no idea what it would be. Any ideas?

Hmm, are you using Game Maker 8.1 or Studio?


Yozzaxia1311 Wrote:I guess updating my project will be harder than I intended. Can you please tell me where you fixed the bug?
I recommend importing any objects, rooms or other resources you added in previous versions.

There is an easy way to import your newly added objects, sprites, rooms and other resources if you're using Game Maker 8.1. In your project file, you can go to File > Export resources. Then, in the patches version of the engine, you can go to File > Import resources and it should import all your newly added resources automatically.

If you're using Studio, things get a little trickier. It's still possible, and it is not that difficult or time-consuming, but it's not as easy as in GM8. I recommend checking out this page if you're using Studio: http://bit.ly/2c2cXpV
03-09-2016, 12:17 PM
Find Reply
Entity1037 Offline
That One Person Who Does Things
*****
Registered

Posts: 472
Threads: 14
Joined: Dec 2014
Reputation: 7
#92
RE: Mega Engine - Open-source Classic Megaman engine for Game Maker 8.1 and Studio!
I'm using 8.1 Standard.

Programming a thing, ba da baa, programming a thing, ba da baa...
03-09-2016, 06:41 PM
Find Reply
WreckingPrograms Offline
Programmer I guess
***
Registered

Posts: 84
Threads: 4
Joined: May 2016
Reputation: 10
#93
RE: Mega Engine - Open-source Classic Megaman engine for Game Maker 8.1 and Studio!
(03-09-2016, 06:41 PM)Entity1037 Wrote: I'm using 8.1 Standard.

Whenever I try to select your icon, I get the same error. However, when selecting any other .ico file, I do not get the error.
I recommend creating a .png image of the icon first, then converting it using this website: http://convertico.com/ . It's never failed me, and I think it should work for you as well.
03-09-2016, 07:00 PM
Find Reply
rcpinto Offline
Regular
**
Registered

Posts: 15
Threads: 0
Joined: Sep 2016
Reputation: 0
#94
RE: Mega Engine - Open-source Classic Megaman engine for Game Maker 8.1 and Studio!
(28-08-2016, 06:27 PM)WreckingPrograms Wrote:
(28-08-2016, 06:20 PM)Yozzaxia1311 Wrote: I also have a request; being able to transition upwards without being on a ladder.

Since that is not in the original games, I will not include it in the engine, as many people would actually complain about it.
If you do want it, however, it's really easy to set up. Go to Scripts > Player > playerSwitchSections and go to line 75. Here, delete "&& climbing == true" and you should be able to transition upwards without holding on to a ladder.

(By the way, the jumpthrough platform glitch you reported earlier has been fixed, so version 1.3 will not have this problem anymore)

Actually, you're able to transition upwards in MM5 and MM9 while on top of vertical moving platforms (bubbles).
04-09-2016, 03:00 AM
Find Reply
WreckingPrograms Offline
Programmer I guess
***
Registered

Posts: 84
Threads: 4
Joined: May 2016
Reputation: 10
#95
RE: Mega Engine - Open-source Classic Megaman engine for Game Maker 8.1 and Studio!
(04-09-2016, 03:00 AM)rcpinto Wrote: Actually, you're able to transition upwards in MM5 and MM9 while on top of vertical moving platforms (bubbles).
Yeah, you're right. If you want to add that to your game, you could replace "climbing == true" by something like this:

(climbing == true || ground == true)
04-09-2016, 02:04 PM
Find Reply
Entity1037 Offline
That One Person Who Does Things
*****
Registered

Posts: 472
Threads: 14
Joined: Dec 2014
Reputation: 7
#96
RE: Mega Engine - Open-source Classic Megaman engine for Game Maker 8.1 and Studio!
The problem with the icon was that it's just too big for game maker. It was 256x256, and I guess 8.1 GM doesn't like that. I just made a 64x64 + 32x32 .ico and it worked fine.

Programming a thing, ba da baa, programming a thing, ba da baa...
(This post was last modified: 04-09-2016, 03:48 PM by Entity1037.)
04-09-2016, 03:48 PM
Find Reply
LemonPig Offline
Programmer level 0.1
**
Registered

Posts: 11
Threads: 2
Joined: Aug 2016
Reputation: -4
#97
RE: Mega Engine - Open-source Classic Megaman engine for Game Maker 8.1 and Studio!
(02-09-2016, 07:43 PM)WreckingPrograms Wrote: Version 1.3 of the Mega Engine has just been released! This update only contains bug fixes, but they are some rather major ones. The most notable bug that has been fixed is the bug where LoadFMOD() crashes the game in GM Studio 1.4.1760. Upon further inspection of the error messages, I came to the conclusion that I didn't need any of the newly-broken functions, so I messed around in the LoadFMOD() script and prevented these broken functions from loading. Now the error messages shouldn't pop up anymore.

From now on, I won't add any more features to the engine, as I feel like it has all necessary content right now. If there will ever be another update, it will be one with just bug fixes.

Download:
Game Maker Studio
Game Maker 8.1

The downloads in the main post have also been updated.

Changelog:
-Fixed a bug where LoadFMOD() would crash the game in GM Studio version 1.4.1760
-Fixed a bug where hitting Pharaoh Man with the Star Crash in the GM Studio version would display an error message
-Fixed a bug where Pharaoh Man would clip inside the floor when turning around near a wall and jumping
-Fixed a bug where placing two jumpthrough solids on top of one another would cause Mega Man to fall through the bottom one
-Fixed a bug where walking from conveyor belts to a floor would cause Mega Man to die
you should add wave bikes and fortress bosses,thats REALLY needed nowMM - Coolface

Quick man, u no die!?MM - CoolfaceMM - Coolface
05-09-2016, 04:01 PM
Find Reply
MegaCross Offline
Newbie
*
Registered

Posts: 3
Threads: 0
Joined: Feb 2016
Reputation: 0
#98
RE: Mega Engine - Open-source Classic Megaman engine for Game Maker 8.1 and Studio!
How do I add music for a level?
07-09-2016, 12:53 AM
Find Reply
Thoron Offline
Still Here
***
Registered

Posts: 51
Threads: 0
Joined: Feb 2016
Reputation: 0
#99
RE: Mega Engine - Open-source Classic Megaman engine for Game Maker 8.1 and Studio!
Hmm, I discovered a strange bug while developing my own title using this.

If there's an enemy that's completely resistant against a certain weapon (like metalbladedamage = 0) and the player destroys it, if you try firing that weapon at where the enemy was destroyed, the weapon will bounce off of that location as if the enemy was still alive. This doesn't happen if the weapon used can damage the enemy. I believe the weapon collision detection is not turned off for dead enemies.
(This post was last modified: 07-09-2016, 04:13 AM by Thoron.)
07-09-2016, 04:12 AM
Find Reply
rcpinto Offline
Regular
**
Registered

Posts: 15
Threads: 0
Joined: Sep 2016
Reputation: 0
RE: Mega Engine - Open-source Classic Megaman engine for Game Maker 8.1 and Studio!
WreckingPrograms, I hope you don't mind (if you do, just tell me and I'll get rid of it).

I just created a Github repository for the engine: https://github.com/rafaelcp/Mega-Engine-Fork. Note that I've called it "Mega-Engine-Fork" to distinguish from the orignal WreckingPrograms' work. I did this to allow the community to contribute to the project, since WreckingPrograms won't be adding new features, and people seem to be already adding useful features to their own copies.

I'd just leave the following guideline: if it's not in every MM game or it doesn't even exist in any game, make it optional through some boolean parameter with default to false! Also, repository collaborators are welcome (having WreckingPrograms himself would be great Smile).
07-09-2016, 04:55 AM
Find Reply


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread:
2 Guest(s)

Return to Top