Post Reply 
MaGMML2 - Bug Reporting Thread
Author Message
ACESpark Offline
Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas.
*******
Administrators

Posts: 929
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 37
Tetris AwardSpike AwardRockman AwardRevo Remix ContributorSIBRE ContributorSmash AwardAce Award
Post: #1
MaGMML2 - Bug Reporting Thread
As we fast approach the release of the Devkit to public testing, it occurs to me, we might want somewhere for people to post bugs they find, and not everyone uses Discord... so here it is!

Any bugs and/or inaccuracies you encounter in the engine, post here!... or in the Discord chat.
17-12-2016 11:47 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
ACESpark Offline
Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas.
*******
Administrators

Posts: 929
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 37
Tetris AwardSpike AwardRockman AwardRevo Remix ContributorSIBRE ContributorSmash AwardAce Award
Post: #2
RE: MaGMML2 - Bug Reporting Thread
SuzyG is borked in the current build. She was originally using a workaround to.. workaround a bugged Gravity script. Now that's been fixed, the workaround now breaks her. To fix her, replace this:

Code:
event_inherited();
if myGrav=1
    image_index=(imageOffset);
if myGrav=-1
    image_index=(5+imageOffset);

With the following:

Code:
event_inherited();
if myGrav=1
    image_yscale=1;
if myGrav=-1
    image_yscale=-1;
image_index=imageOffset;
- Fixed in one of the devkit updates.
(This post was last modified: 19-12-2016 09:16 PM by ACESpark.)
19-12-2016 08:10 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
ACESpark Offline
Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas.
*******
Administrators

Posts: 929
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 37
Tetris AwardSpike AwardRockman AwardRevo Remix ContributorSIBRE ContributorSmash AwardAce Award
Post: #3
RE: MaGMML2 - Bug Reporting Thread
Using Au Au and dying results in this crash:
Code:
for object objAuAuShot:

Error in code at line 27:
           direction = point_direction(x, y, objMegaman.x, objMegaman.y);


Fixed - pyro
(This post was last modified: 19-12-2016 11:20 PM by SnoruntPyro.)
19-12-2016 10:27 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
gone-sovereign Offline
Regular
**
Registered

Posts: 43
Joined: May 2016
Reputation: 1

Post: #4
RE: MaGMML2 - Bug Reporting Thread
Haven't been on Discord so I think you may already be aware of some of these bugs. Nevertheless:

-The Snake Man cloud platforms seem to suffer from the same problem as they did in the original Mega Man 3. If you're standing on the platform as they rise from underneath you, the platform shunts you off.
-The screen transition is broken between the last and second-to-last rooms of the Mega Man 8 gimmick showcase (speaking of Mega Man 8, will the Rush Jet gimmick from Tengu Man's stage be implemented as well?).
-I had this happen with one of the Pooker enemies in the Mega Man 6 gimmick showcase.
-With the MM8 sledding gimmick, you're able to pass through the blocks you're meant to shoot at, without taking damage.
-Mega Man shouldn't use the jumping sprite when he's on the sled either.

-Less a bug, more a complaint: The Galaxy Man teleporters should have better indication as to whether they'll drop you right-side up or upside down.
-You can't slide while upside down, or die by falling up into a bottomless pit (or ceiling if you prefer) with the Gravity Man gimmick.
-The MM2 platforms that fall out from underneath you seem like they do so a bit too quickly.
-The Air Tikis generate Petit Gobins even when you're no longer standing on them.
-Somehow I glitched through Big Snakey's platforms when I got hit. (Pyro: this should be fixed but I'm not entirely sure)

I'll need to play through some more of the test stages, but I'll continue to report back any new bugs I notice.

Crossed out stuff is fixed -Pyro

"You have to understand that people aren't just people -- they're a collection of the choices they have made."
- Peckinpah, House of Gold & Bones Part 3: The Answers
-----------------
DeviantArt
Tumblr
(This post was last modified: 08-01-2017 06:36 PM by SnoruntPyro.)
20-12-2016 11:54 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
JoeReviewer Offline
Newbie
*
Registered

Posts: 6
Joined: Jul 2016
Reputation: 0

Post: #5
RE: MaGMML2 - Bug Reporting Thread
In the MM5 gimmick testing room, if you miss the jump from the first spinning platform back to the second one and die you get this error:

___________________________________________
ERROR in
action number 1
of Begin Step Event
for object objMM5SpinningPlatform:

Error in code at line 8:
and objMegaman.ground == true
^
at position 21: Unknown variable ground

___________________________________________


Fixed -Pyro
(This post was last modified: 24-12-2016 09:46 PM by SnoruntPyro.)
21-12-2016 03:25 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
BBLIR Offline
Casual game developer
***
Registered

Posts: 64
Joined: Dec 2016
Reputation: 2

Post: #6
RE: MaGMML2 - Bug Reporting Thread
In version 12. 22., I found a bug, where hitting a Sniper Joe Mech will spawn a Sniper Joe with each hit.

Also, when New Shotmen are onscreen, pausing the game or in any way freezing it, results in this:
___________________________________________
ERROR in
action number 2
of Begin Step Event
for object objGlobalControl:

Error in code at line 7:
if !frozen { //Start Freeze
^
at position 18: Unknown variable frozen


All of this has been fixed now -Pyro
(This post was last modified: 27-12-2016 05:02 PM by SnoruntPyro.)
26-12-2016 07:23 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Bloo Offline
Professional Mediocre Spriter
****
Registered

Posts: 156
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 1

Post: #7
RE: MaGMML2 - Bug Reporting Thread
Any time I shoot an enemy my game crashes. It doesn't give me an error message or anything.

If I was a vegetable I'd have ten potatoes.
26-12-2016 10:19 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
BBLIR Offline
Casual game developer
***
Registered

Posts: 64
Joined: Dec 2016
Reputation: 2

Post: #8
RE: MaGMML2 - Bug Reporting Thread
While in anti-gravity, trying to clim a ladder from a standing position results in running in place.

Also,for some odd reason, Rush Jet seems to just stop while flying. This happens quite frequently on very specific parts of the level, so I'm not sure if it's just my level or that's a general issue.
EDIT(12.29.):
When going up on Rush Jet, Mega Man just falls off. And hitting the edge of a Splash Woman platform kills you.
Also Crash Man platforms seem to respawn when offscreen, often slowly moving to the right.
EDIT2(1.8. '17):
Rushjet seems to shake while standing on him.
Also Crash Man platforms are still broken and I have no idea what to replace them with.

It doesn't seem to happen anymore-BBLIR
(This post was last modified: 08-01-2017 01:45 PM by BBLIR.)
29-12-2016 12:16 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Beed28 Offline
The world is more fun when it's all bouncy.
***
Registered

Posts: 53
Joined: Mar 2016
Reputation: 2

Post: #9
RE: MaGMML2 - Bug Reporting Thread
If you set the Arrow to be locked, then at the pause screen, the whole game will completely lock up if you try scrolling down past it from the Rush and Wire items to the Exit button.

Fixed -Pyro
(This post was last modified: 01-01-2017 05:11 AM by SnoruntPyro.)
31-12-2016 03:25 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
The Mega Fan 19XX Offline
AKA: Speed Wind
***
Registered

Posts: 84
Joined: Apr 2016
Reputation: 2

Post: #10
RE: MaGMML2 - Bug Reporting Thread
-The teleporters from the MM2 & MM3 Enemy sections don't work, which means you'll have to exit the level to get out of those sections.

-Also one of the mini Snakies (near the end of the MM3 enemy section) shot me off screen throwing me to a bottomless pit and instead of dying it cause the game to crash.


-There was also one glitch with Cutman whare i used Flash Stopper on him and the sprite kept moving forward until it left the screen, fortunately it came back after the effects of the Flash Stopper ended.

-Then there's the fact that Wheel Cutter completely ignores Plant Man, i mean that it passes right through him without hitting him (kinda like a ghost). Intentional (?) -Pyro

-Also this not a bug but a complain: who thought using Slash Claw as the weakness for Volt Man was a good idea? i mean, using a short ranged melee weapon against a shield user is NOT a good idea.

-Also the game crashed when i finished Centaur Man with the Triple Blade. Fixed - ACE

-Also i don't know if this happened to anyone else but when i played it the first time Megaman kept charging his buster and he coudn't fire any of the special weapons. I fixed it when i changed the control settings but i don't know how it happened in the first place and i don't know how to replicate it.

I'll post more bugs when i find them.
(This post was last modified: 08-01-2017 06:35 PM by SnoruntPyro.)
02-01-2017 01:42 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Beed28 Offline
The world is more fun when it's all bouncy.
***
Registered

Posts: 53
Joined: Mar 2016
Reputation: 2

Post: #11
RE: MaGMML2 - Bug Reporting Thread
Not sure if this was reported yet, but the climbing offsets for the Proto Man, Bass, and Roll costumes are off.

EDIT: Also, using Flash Stopper on Pharaoh Man only lets you hit him once, unlike in Mega Man 4 whereas you could hit him multiple times when he's frozen.

Fixed -Pyro
(This post was last modified: 06-01-2017 11:06 PM by SnoruntPyro.)
02-01-2017 04:57 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
gone-sovereign Offline
Regular
**
Registered

Posts: 43
Joined: May 2016
Reputation: 1

Post: #12
RE: MaGMML2 - Bug Reporting Thread
To add to what The Mega Fan 19XX posted above, this is the error you get upon killing Centaur Man:

ERROR in
action number 1
of Step Event
for object objCentaurDetector:

Error in code at line 6:
if instance_exists(objMegaman) && objCentaurMan.randomSpawn == false
^
at position 50: Unknown variable randomSpawn


Fixed -Pyro

"You have to understand that people aren't just people -- they're a collection of the choices they have made."
- Peckinpah, House of Gold & Bones Part 3: The Answers
-----------------
DeviantArt
Tumblr
(This post was last modified: 02-01-2017 10:34 PM by SnoruntPyro.)
02-01-2017 09:08 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
ACESpark Offline
Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas.
*******
Administrators

Posts: 929
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 37
Tetris AwardSpike AwardRockman AwardRevo Remix ContributorSIBRE ContributorSmash AwardAce Award
Post: #13
RE: MaGMML2 - Bug Reporting Thread
Update to the latest devkit build, Centaur Man was fixed a while back.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/euw8y13mrmgqkm....gm81?dl=0

02-01-2017 09:55 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
ACESpark Offline
Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas.
*******
Administrators

Posts: 929
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 37
Tetris AwardSpike AwardRockman AwardRevo Remix ContributorSIBRE ContributorSmash AwardAce Award
Post: #14
RE: MaGMML2 - Bug Reporting Thread
Can't remember if this has been reported or not, but Cut Man does this:
[Image: s73H6mY.gif]

If Mega Man is next to a wall and he turns around.
I don't know enough about the collision system to fix it myself. This might be an issue with other enemies too but it's easiest to test with Cut Man.


Fixed - ACE
(This post was last modified: 03-01-2017 09:16 PM by ACESpark.)
03-01-2017 05:01 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Saturn Offline
Pingu
****
Registered

Posts: 101
Joined: Jun 2014
Reputation: 0

Post: #15
RE: MaGMML2 - Bug Reporting Thread
I've been testing gimmicks for my level and some of them seem to interact strangely or could be improved. If it's not asking too much, I would like to make a few suggestions:
Crossed out stuff is fixed -Pyro

Improvement is a double–edged sword: while you feel bad for not being able to go back and fix everything, it allows you to go forward stronger; and it repeats on and on: it hurts to redo redo and redo, but you know it's always for a good reason.

Quote: "Noot noot." - Saturn, 21XX
(This post was last modified: 08-01-2017 06:34 PM by SnoruntPyro.)
07-01-2017 11:17 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Beed28 Offline
The world is more fun when it's all bouncy.
***
Registered

Posts: 53
Joined: Mar 2016
Reputation: 2

Post: #16
RE: MaGMML2 - Bug Reporting Thread
The upgraded Mega Buster charged shot doesn't affect Pooker unlike the regular charged shot.

If you shoot just as you're going through a boss door (and the door in question doesn't lead to a boss fight), Mega Man stays in his shooting pose until you shoot again or get hit.

The giant Metool mini-boss in the Mega Man 3 enemy showcase doesn't seem to be set up properly, making it impossible to get passed him.

Blocky shouldn't be able throw his body a second time.

The moving water and floor room at the end of the Mega Man 6 showcase is completely screwed up.

Projectiles don't "move with the screen" with the Mega Man 8 snowboard, unlike the Mega Man 5 Wave Bikes.

And finally, the locked door partially respawns if you scroll off the screen and scroll it back again, and prevents you from going through again.

Crossed out stuff is fixed -Pyro
(This post was last modified: 10-01-2017 05:00 PM by SnoruntPyro.)
08-01-2017 09:35 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
dracmeister Offline
Regular
**
Registered

Posts: 11
Joined: Jan 2017
Reputation: 0

Post: #17
RE: MaGMML2 - Bug Reporting Thread
Uh. So I did the whole automated tile collision thing, is there something I missed?

So I assigned blocks in the tileset then placed the object setter. And Megaman still falls through the floor.
Yes, they're on the same layer.

Can I provide screenshots?
10-01-2017 04:15 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
SnoruntPyro Offline
cute
*****
Moderators

Posts: 168
Joined: Jan 2016
Reputation: 14
Wedge AwardRockman Award
Post: #18
RE: MaGMML2 - Bug Reporting Thread
(10-01-2017 04:15 PM)dracmeister Wrote:  Uh. So I did the whole automated tile collision thing, is there something I missed?
The automated tileset thing is a known complete asshole that only decides to work half the time and I have no idea how it works because it's literal magic. Try...

* moving the tileset image somewhere else (top left corner of the room seems to work the most consistently for me)
* reorganizing your tileset so that the first row has solids in it
* making sure that the tileset is on the default layer
* making sure you didn't accidentally select more than the exact size of the background
* maybe try creating another room?

If none of this works, you'll probably just have to place stuff manually. I'm really sorry if it comes to that but the autotiler is actual magic that most of us don't understand and all of us are very frustrated at it suddenly not working.
10-01-2017 05:03 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Entity1037 Offline
That One Person Who Does Things
*****
Registered

Posts: 456
Joined: Dec 2014
Reputation: 5

Post: #19
RE: MaGMML2 - Bug Reporting Thread
More possible fixes for objObjectSetter:

* Make sure the object is indeed on the topleft of your tileset in your room.
* Make sure the image size of your tileset is divisible by 16
* Make sure to shift-drag select the entire tileset and place the entire tileset all at once. It wont work if you place each tile down individually. Also make sure your tileset doesn't have "separation", aka empty space between your tiles, or else you really can't shift-drag it.
* Make sure the tileset and object are snapped to the 16x16 grid.

Programming a thing, ba da baa, programming a thing, ba da baa...
(This post was last modified: 11-01-2017 02:41 AM by Entity1037.)
11-01-2017 02:35 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
dracmeister Offline
Regular
**
Registered

Posts: 11
Joined: Jan 2017
Reputation: 0

Post: #20
RE: MaGMML2 - Bug Reporting Thread
Oh yeah. There is a rather funny bug when landing on a slope that leads to vertical wall. If you press against the wall then land on a slope, Megaman gets stuck on his jumping/falling animation until the button is released.
11-01-2017 12:36 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread:
1 Guest(s)

Return to TopReturn to Content